VO-BB - A VO Family Forum Index VO-BB - A VO Family
A welcoming home for those in this crazy profession
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Random clicking with Apollo Twin Duo

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VO-BB - A VO Family Forum Index -> Gear !
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FinMac
DC


Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 610
Location: In a really cool place...Finland!

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:25 am    Post subject: Random clicking with Apollo Twin Duo Reply with quote

My Apollo Twin Duo thunderbolt produces random clicks.

Anybody have this problem ? Any thoughts ?

Your help is appreciated!
_________________
www.scottsvoiceover.com - An American voice in Finland

"If you want to get to the top, you have to get off your bottom". (Unknown)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Bruce
Boardmeister


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 6808
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know zzzippp about Apollo equipment, but I do know that random noises and dropouts can come from a bad cable in or out. Try a little cable swapping just in case.

Otherwise our crack tech team here will weigh in.

B
_________________
VO-BB Member #38 Enlisted June, 2005

I'm not a Zoo, but over the years I've played one on radio/TV. .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
FinMac
DC


Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 610
Location: In a really cool place...Finland!

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Captain!

Will check the cables. From my own experience in radio (pardon my French)
I should have remembered that is always the first thing to check.

Hope your back is back to normal.
_________________
www.scottsvoiceover.com - An American voice in Finland

"If you want to get to the top, you have to get off your bottom". (Unknown)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
FinMac
DC


Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 610
Location: In a really cool place...Finland!

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:37 am    Post subject: Not the cables Reply with quote

Problem does not appear to be the cables.

The unit can get quite warm, and it appears that's when the problem shows up.
(Just turned the unit on, it is cold, and it soon started the random clicks).

Have increased the buffer size but that did not do the trick.

Anybody else have this problem ?
_________________
www.scottsvoiceover.com - An American voice in Finland

"If you want to get to the top, you have to get off your bottom". (Unknown)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
txrpls
Contributor


Joined: 20 Feb 2017
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some questions.
Are you using the thunderbolt version or the USB?
Are you using the ASIO driver?
Did the problem just start?
Mac or Windows?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FinMac
DC


Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 610
Location: In a really cool place...Finland!

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:46 pm    Post subject: Thanks for the help Reply with quote

Mac
Thunderbolt
Problem started a couple of months ago

It is intermittent. Had the Apollo on this morning for about 45 minutes and no problem at all.

Thanks for any help you can pass along !
_________________
www.scottsvoiceover.com - An American voice in Finland

"If you want to get to the top, you have to get off your bottom". (Unknown)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Ed Fisher
DC


Joined: 05 Sep 2012
Posts: 603
Location: East Coast, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2019 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahhh...

As a USB PC Apollo Twin owner...all I can say is..."whew."

You might check to see that the sample rate coming from the Apollo matches that which is setup in your Mac.

This also might happen if there is something else taking up resources on your Mac that you're not aware of...etc.

(at this pint let me be clear that I know NOTHING about Macs)

And...last but not least...have you contacted UAD about this?

Seems like they might be some help. Laugh
_________________
"I reserve the right to be completely wrong."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FinMac
DC


Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 610
Location: In a really cool place...Finland!

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:01 am    Post subject: Thanks Ed Reply with quote

Thanks Ed for the suggestion.

I kept going round and round in the UA webpage, and it kept taking me to the FAQ pages which were of no help at all.

I live in Europe and they do not have a support help line for my country.

Finally, after searching and searching and searching I got to the page where they would let me write a question to them for support help Smile

Many webpages nowadays make it difficult, if not impossible, to write an email to get an answer. I thought the UA page was one of them !

Thanks for your suggestion about contacting them. It prompted me to keep searching until I struck pay dirt where I could submit a support request.
_________________
www.scottsvoiceover.com - An American voice in Finland

"If you want to get to the top, you have to get off your bottom". (Unknown)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
txrpls
Contributor


Joined: 20 Feb 2017
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2019 7:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Thanks for the help Reply with quote

FinMac wrote:
Mac
Thunderbolt
Problem started a couple of months ago

It is intermittent. Had the Apollo on this morning for about 45 minutes and no problem at all.

Thanks for any help you can pass along !


FinMac,

Sorry for the delay I have been away for a while. I am using a Windows machine, so I may not be of much help. As stated above, make sure your sample rates are the same. On Windows, if you are not using a DAW and the 64 bit ASIO driver, the popping and crackling are horrible. I had to switch to the USB model to get it to work. I primarily use Camtasia for my recordings, and the thunderbolt interface does not work period.

You might try a different DAW and see if that solves the issue. Reaper would work fine on my machine, but anytime I switched to a program that didn't use the ASIO driver, everything went downhill. I posted this problem on the UAD forum over two years ago. UAD is obviously not going to fix the windows issue, The only reason I have continued with the hardware is the fact that I have a Townsend Sphere Microphone and I paid George to get it all set up. I have invested too much to change now. This thread reminds me to put my Thunderbolt Appolo on Craigslist.

Good luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FinMac
DC


Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 610
Location: In a really cool place...Finland!

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:21 pm    Post subject: Thanks for the help! Reply with quote

Thanks txrpls for your help.

That's exactly the kind of information I was searching for by posting this thread.

It is interesting to note that I am also using the Townsend Labs Sphere into the Apollo Twin.

Perhaps that has something to do with the problem.

Wrote to Universal Audio the other day but no reply yet.

Would hate to get rid of the Apollo after getting more plug-ins. When it works it works great, but it has to work right all the time.
_________________
www.scottsvoiceover.com - An American voice in Finland

"If you want to get to the top, you have to get off your bottom". (Unknown)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Frank F
Fat, Old, and Sassy


Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Posts: 4132
Location: Park City, Utah

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a random thought (with a bit of experience behind it)... Although you checked the cables, which is good, did you check the power coming from the T-bolt port?

If you have another T-bolt port, try another port.

Additionally, your mini-transformer in the Apollo may be the issue. That explanation has been the bane of the Twin since it's inception... my experience comes from helping someone who actually sent it back three time for repair and being up-sold twice and the problem still exists... after voiding the warranty and replacing the transformer in the unit it works - still 2 years later.

F2
_________________
Be thankful for the bad things in life. They opened your eyes to the good things you weren't paying attention to before. www.frank-thevoice.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
FinMac
DC


Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 610
Location: In a really cool place...Finland!

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 10:28 am    Post subject: Thanks Frank! Reply with quote

Thanks Frank for the good suggestions.

Welcome back !
_________________
www.scottsvoiceover.com - An American voice in Finland

"If you want to get to the top, you have to get off your bottom". (Unknown)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VO-BB - A VO Family Forum Index -> Gear ! All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group