VO-BB - A VO Family Forum Index VO-BB - A VO Family
15 Years and Counting!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Long cables or a 2nd computer ?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VO-BB - A VO Family Forum Index -> Gear !
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FinMac
DC


Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 610
Location: In a really cool place...Finland!

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 11:36 am    Post subject: Long cables or a 2nd computer ? Reply with quote

Been working on setting up a second recording space, something like a VO Studio/Office set-up.

Thinking to run a 10 meter high quality XLR mic cable to the micpre, and a 7.5 meter HDMI to DVI cable to my current mac mini (late 2012 Core i5) instead of buying a second computer. (If I understand correctly, the mac mini should be able to run 2 monitors at the same time).

Don't think the mic cable will be a problem, but what about the computer monitor cable ? Anyone know of any problems with this idea ? Is there anything else needed to make this work ?

Appreciate your input !
_________________
www.scottsvoiceover.com - An American voice in Finland

"If you want to get to the top, you have to get off your bottom". (Unknown)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
todd ellis
A Zillion


Joined: 02 Jan 2007
Posts: 9511
Location: little egypt

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i am running two 30' monitor cables - one hdmi - the other dvi. i have had no issues.
_________________
"i know philip banks": todd ellis

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
FinMac
DC


Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 610
Location: In a really cool place...Finland!

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 10:20 pm    Post subject: Thanks! Reply with quote

Thanks Todd! That is want I needed to know Smile
_________________
www.scottsvoiceover.com - An American voice in Finland

"If you want to get to the top, you have to get off your bottom". (Unknown)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
vkuehn
DC


Joined: 24 Apr 2013
Posts: 688
Location: Vernon now calls Wisconsin home

PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2016 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The mic cable should be no problem unless it gets to close to or runs parallel to a power cable, but relocating one or both will solve that issue.

The modern day churches that are hanging video projectors from the ceiling to show graphics and text on the big screens are running what amounts to monitor cables much farther that what you are proposing. I have a 75 foot monitor cable that I have used at times, but that started with an earlier machine that would not do HDMI so I ran VGA.

You haven't mentioned keyboard and mouse. You have that handled?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
FinMac
DC


Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 610
Location: In a really cool place...Finland!

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Vernon,

Would use the same keyboard and mouse as with the mac mini now. Imagine that would work. Will do a test with a shorter cable today Smile

Edit: later in the day I tried to connect both the HDMI and the thunderbolt cables but the HDMI cable had too thick a handle and both would not plug into the mac mini at the same time ! (Tempted to take a saw and try to thin it out).

Anyway, in theory, with a better fitting cable it should work.
_________________
www.scottsvoiceover.com - An American voice in Finland

"If you want to get to the top, you have to get off your bottom". (Unknown)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Yonie
Flight Attendant


Joined: 31 Aug 2011
Posts: 899

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And you have now hit one of the issues with small form factor. Size matters, gents!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Bruce
Boardmeister


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 6847
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Methinks power boosted extensions were needed more when monitors required a stronger signal to display properly. Today, not so much.


B
_________________
VO-BB Member #38 Enlisted June, 2005

I'm not a Zoo, but over the years I've played one on radio/TV. .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Joellite



Joined: 10 Feb 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 1:34 pm    Post subject: Re: Long cables or a 2nd computer ? Reply with quote

You don't have to worry about HDMI until you hit 50ft.
If you're concerned you can run an HDMI booster that uses cat5e network cable in between the send and receive
http://access8.com/HDMI-Extender-Cat5e-cat6Toronto-Markham-ontario.html

or
http://www.lextec.com/cab_dvi.html

Good luck!



Thinking to run a 10 meter high quality XLR mic cable to the micpre, and a 7.5 meter HDMI to DVI cable to my current mac mini (late 2012 Core i5) instead of buying a second computer. (If I understand correctly, the mac mini should be able to run 2 monitors at the same time).

Don't think the mic cable will be a problem, but what about the computer monitor cable ? Anyone know of any problems with this idea ? Is there anything else needed to make this work ?

Appreciate your input ![/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joellite



Joined: 10 Feb 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:00 pm    Post subject: LOng cables Reply with quote

It isn't a problem.

I use these guys for cables.
Easy to order and you can talk to someone to get info.

http://lextec.com/cab_dvi.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
georgethetech
The Gates of Troy


Joined: 18 Mar 2007
Posts: 1846
Location: Topanga, CA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed this system in a studio with good success:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073B84CY1/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Also carries USB along with the HDMI via CAT5, so clean!

George
_________________
If it sounds good, it is good.
George Whittam
GeorgeThe.Tech
424-226-8528
VOBS.TV Co-host
TheProAudioSuite.com Co-host
TriBooth.com Co-founder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VO-BB - A VO Family Forum Index -> Gear ! All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group