VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD! Forum Index VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD!
Where A.I. is a four-letter word.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

never been more confused about acoustic treatment
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
yarg28
Been Here Awhile

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2016 3:18 pm    Post subject: never been more confused about acoustic treatment Reply with quote

first, know that I suffer from analysis paralysis a great deal. I'm a bit of a researcher and perfectionist. I'm searching for the voice of reason.

I'm extremely handy. I modified the Dawbox design and built it myself and it's just what I wanted for under a grand all in. 4'x6', Larger door size, 3/4" mdf, single wall. It's 100% completed...minus the acoustic treatment. I mean it's ready to treat and start making money.

Here is the problem, I cant decide for the life of me what to do about acoustic treatment. My original idea was to build panels (about 19 of them) out of 3.5" recycled denim and cover them with fabric. Pretty much cover the entire booth. That sent me on the search for acoustically transparent fabric that isn't a million dollars a yard or cheap and ugly. Unicorn.

Then the common sense part of me kicked in and i thought maybe just go with auralex or something similar. Obviously people use that material in booths. I mean whisperroom includes it in their packages. But then you go read forums and everybody is like, "OMG NO FOAM EVER, ITS THE DEVIL!".

And Auralex is actually pretty expensive also. It would maybe save me $150 to go with all auralex instead of building. I could have it by Thursday and up by Friday morning though. No work to finish up. Boom, done.