VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD! Forum Index VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD!
Where A.I. is a four-letter word.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Dueling pre's or Nice Fit?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
markt
Been Here Awhile

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 12:57 pm    Post subject: Dueling pre's or Nice Fit? Reply with quote

Hey all,

*Disclaimer: Like many out here, I am not an audio engineer…not even close. I know just enough to produce pretty good audio. Please forgive my naivety.

The mic pre shootouts and like discussions have been very timely and informative for me.

I've been using a DBX286a for over a year, and have the settings just about where I need them for my uses. I read Bill Campbell's suggested "9:30" settings, and will test them out tomorrow. Apparently, these settings worked out nicely in Tom Test's trial and got some good feedback out here.

Striving to better my product, I've been considering picking up a Golden Age pre 73, thinking that it may bring a bit more 'punch' to the table…

I do like the processor on the DBX. The gate is great for dialing out any unwanted sound.

Here is the question *(please refer to the Disclaimer): Could I combine these two pre's with any successful outcome to get the best from each?
Mike Sommer
A Hundred Dozen

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 7:55 pm    Post subject: Re: Dueling pre's or Nice Fit? Reply with quote

markt wrote:
I've been considering picking up a Golden Age pre 73, thinking that it may bring a bit more 'punch'... I do like the processor on the DBX. The gate is great for dialing out any unwanted sound.

Could I combine these two pre's with any successful outcome to get the best from each?