VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD! Forum Index VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD!
Where A.I. is a four-letter word.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Voice Overs and Tax Implications

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Karen

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 7:49 pm    Post subject: Voice Overs and Tax Implications Reply with quote

Happy New Year all!

I am just starting out in the VO world and am poised to begin marketing my demo at the end of this month As tax season is soon to kick into high gear soon, I am wondering about what my tax implications will be as a voice over artist (i.e. what can I deduct, should I incorporate myself, what's the right entity for my voice over business, etc.) The only VO expense I've really had in 2005 is paying for my demo production and travel time.

How do you guys handle this? Is there literature out there I can read before consulting (and paying for) an accountant?

Thanks for any advice and suggestions!

Karen
Deirdre
Czarina Emeritus

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think you need to incorporate.

I found a tax accountant who handles artists' taxes. My VO biz is quite similar in terms of numerous income sources and studio expenses.

My deduction breakdown is extensive-- I file a long form. If you're planning to make deductions, you'd better get an accountant. You will be happy to fork over the fee and forget about the agony.

Didn't we have a conversation about this last year?
I wonder, if we did, if those postings got lost in the Great Hack of 2005.

I can't find anything from early last year with the word "accountant" in it.

Oh, well. Chime in again...what the hell.
anthonyVO
14th Avenue

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 6:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote