VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD! Forum Index VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD!
Where A.I. is a four-letter word.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How to break into VO

View previous topic :: View next topic  
ryansbeal

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 2:02 pm    Post subject: How to break into VO Reply with quote

Hey everyone. As you know by now I'm a newbie both to the list and to VO. I have read many topics about voice123 and IV and none to good. I belong to both and now am starting to wonder myself. My questions follow below.

1. How to you start in this industry?

2. Who do you contact, what type of businesses?

3. Where and how do you network?

4. How do you follow-up with a client contact?

5. Anyone know a coach in my neck of the woods? (WSleep

Thanks
Ryan

Sorry If I've asked questions already answered. If so please direct me to the right spot.
Deirdre
Czarina Emeritus

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Get James Alburger's book The Art of Voice Acting.

That will give you a big push in the right direction.

You are asking questions most of us had to figure out for ourselves over time. LONG time.

How do you start?
Practice reading aloud every day. Into a tape recorder. Listen to it.
billelder

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm no expert and all of us have different ways of presenting ourselves and methods of getting work.

From your Voice123 info I see that you've done "Local Radio broadcasts, Phone menus systems," and "a lot of public speaking experiance."

How about contacting some of the clients who enjoy your work in broadcasting? Since you've done public speaking perhaps an agent is familiar with your work?