VO-BB - A VO Family Forum Index VO-BB - A VO Family
15 Years and Counting!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Pro Tools 4-band EQ "pop filter"
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VO-BB - A VO Family Forum Index -> Research and Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Deirdre
Czarina Emeritus


Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Posts: 12863
Location: East Jesus, Maine

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 3:59 pm    Post subject: Pro Tools 4-band EQ "pop filter" Reply with quote



Select (only) the plosive and click "process".

Voila! the clonk of the popped P is gone.
With some mics, it takes 2 passes.
_________________
DBCooperVO.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jeffrey Kafer
Assistant Zookeeper


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 4931
Location: Location, Location!

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well that's interesting. It seems that this setting merely drops off the low frequencies. I'd be curious to know how well this works with a man's plosives vs a woman's.
_________________
Jeff
http://JeffreyKafer.com
Voice-overload Web comic: http://voice-overload.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Heavy D
Contributor II


Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now thats COOL !
Thanks!


Dean
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richgates
Guest





PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I recorded this to test Deirdre's settings on male plosives using Pro Tools. Unfortunately version 7.1.3 doesn't have a 4 band EQ that I could find. Just a 1 Band and 7 Band EQ.

This recording goes to show that the closer I get to moving the more sanity is slipping away.

http://www.richgates.com/audio/pickles.mp3
Back to top
bobsouer
Frequent Flyer


Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 9857
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rich,

I haven't listened to your audio file yet, but assuming you're using Pro Tools in Windows, look here:

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Digidesign\DAE\Plug-Ins (Unused)

Make sure you have Pro Tools closed, and move any files you find in that folder to this one:

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Digidesign\DAE\Plug-Ins

Start up Pro Tools and I think you'll find your missing 4-band EQ.

And Deirdre, blessings on you for this. Thank you!
_________________
Be well,
Bob Souer (just think of lemons)
The second nicest guy in voiceover.
+1-724-613-2749
ISDN, Source Connect, phone patch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
richgates
Guest





PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Bob, I'm on a Mac, but I will take a look in the directory. I'm sure if it is still included I will find it. Smile
Back to top
Deirdre
Czarina Emeritus


Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Posts: 12863
Location: East Jesus, Maine

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got these settings from the Creative Director at WNUA, the Smooth Jazz station in Chicago.

Deep

D
E
E
P

Voice. (a real wow.)
It works for him, it works for me.
_________________
DBCooperVO.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Gregory Best
The Gates of Troy


Joined: 04 Aug 2005
Posts: 1838
Location: San Diego area (east of Connie and south and east of Bailey)

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 12:18 pm    Post subject: How about settings for Audition 1.5? Reply with quote

Anyone have settings for Adobe Audtion 1.5? I know that avoiding plosives is best, but sometimes we are in a hurry with a lst minue audition,
_________________
Gregory Best

greg@gregorybest.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Tom Greenlee
DC


Joined: 24 Mar 2006
Posts: 686
Location: Divide, Colorado (above the clouds)

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here you go. Adobe Audition 2.0


_________________
TG2

"Communication without intelligence is noise; Intelligence without communication is irrelevant."

Gen. Alfred. M. Gray, USMC
Former Commandant of the Marine Corps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Charlie Channel
Club 300


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 356
Location: East Palo Alto, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2007 5:41 am    Post subject: Re: Pro Tools 4-band EQ "pop filter" Reply with quote

Thanks! I needed that.
_________________
Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Brian in Charlotte
Contributor IV


Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 145
Location: Florida Sun Coast

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use the 1-Band EQ in Pro-Tools for this very purpose....works like a DREAM and has saved me more times that I can think!! Before I had additional plug-ins, I came up with a setting to make it sound like I'm on the telephone/walkie talkie etc. But, then came the TRackS with all the presets!

I will try your settings Deirdre to see how it works in comparision...thanks.


Brian in Charlotte
www.VoiceOverForYou.com
Blog: VoicePro.blogspot.com
_________________
Brian Haymond
www.TheVoiceofBrian.com
YouTube.com/VoiceofBrian
Twitter.com/TheVoiceofBrian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
davidmonteath
Lucky 700


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 754
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great post Deebs, thanks, that will be reallly useful.

Does anyone haave a similar one for Apple Logic or do you reckon the same settings would be OK?
_________________
www.davidmonteath.com

Sponsor of Voice APpreciation Indulgence Day 2010

Proud member of Self Appointed Voice-Over Experts Discussion Group - overenthusiastic pontification a speciality.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Deirdre
Czarina Emeritus


Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Posts: 12863
Location: East Jesus, Maine

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll bet a 4-band EQ in any program will give you the same result.

you can always UNDO if it doesn't!
_________________
DBCooperVO.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
davidmonteath
Lucky 700


Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 754
Location: Buckinghamshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

True, very true...oh great sage. Smile
_________________
www.davidmonteath.com

Sponsor of Voice APpreciation Indulgence Day 2010

Proud member of Self Appointed Voice-Over Experts Discussion Group - overenthusiastic pontification a speciality.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BenWils
The Thirteenth Floor


Joined: 08 May 2006
Posts: 1324
Location: In a Flyover State

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will second that. It should be the same in any program David.

For those that are unaware of what the 4 band settings are, here is my best shot at explaining what everything means. Hope it helps.

The fork looking things at the top and bottom of DB's 4-band picture mean your settings are set to "shelving" EQ....meaning everything above (hi-frequencies) or below (low frequencies) will be boosted or reduced....kind of like a shelf, as the name implies.

The middle symbols that look like a circle with lines on each side are parametric EQ adjustments. Meaning, you select the frequency you want and the Q, which is the bandwidth or frequency range you are selecting for boosting or lowering. The higher your Q number the more of the frequency spectrum you will be selecting for adjustment. The smaller the Q number the tighter frequency selection you are making.... for fine adjustments to your sound file.

Only the bottom two selections are doing anything on DB's setting picture (just for reference). You see the 1.10K selection in the bottom parametric setting (circle with the lines) is taking some of the attack or the higher range of the plosive with just a 1.3 Q (aka bandwidth) setting and at the bottom the shelving EQ setting set at 80 Hz is the selected thus removing the boom or bass response you get from a plosive because it is reducing low frequencies at 80Hz and everything below it by 11.0 dB.

Hz = Hertz
kHz = kilohertz (which is just 1,000 Hz...thus 1 kHz equals 1,000 Hz)

Another helpful piece of info..the human ear is said to only be able to hear from 20 Hz to 20 kHz (20,000 Hz). Most cannot hear up to 20 Khz. I drop out at about 17 kHz.

Hopefully this is helpful info for some.

Ben
_________________
Ben


"To be really good at voiceover, you need to improve your footwork and hip snap."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VO-BB - A VO Family Forum Index -> Research and Development All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group