VO-BB - A VO Family Forum Index VO-BB - A VO Family
Stuff A Lime In This Corona!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How do you Phone Patch?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VO-BB - A VO Family Forum Index -> Gear !
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Moosevoice
Been Here Awhile


Joined: 16 Nov 2012
Posts: 205
Location: Iowa

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 9:17 am    Post subject: How do you Phone Patch? Reply with quote

How do you do your phone patches?
Iíve got an Apollo Twin solo interface and need to phone patch for tomorrow but I havenít done it in a while and when I did I had a completely different interface (ID 22).
Iíd like to just use my cell phone if possible but can do a landline.

What gear do you use? Service?
_________________
www.moosevoice.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
George
Contributor


Joined: 09 Dec 2019
Posts: 47
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

definitely following this thread. quite relevant to my interests.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bruce
Boardmeister


Joined: 06 Jun 2005
Posts: 7013
Location: Portland, OR

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many of us use Skype. Many audio software programs allow you to input and output Skype calls through the program. Iíve done a Skype session with four people listening in at once from the U.S. and Europe. Cool.

Zoom is also popular for video and audio sessions.

The days of the phone patch device are long gone. In fact Iíve got one Iím planning on taking to an electronics recycler. Anyone need a brick?

B
_________________
VO-BB Member #31 Enlisted June, 2005

I'm not a Zoo, but over the years I've played one on radio/TV. .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Karyn OBryant
Backstage Pass


Joined: 23 Jul 2013
Posts: 434
Location: Portlandia-adjacent

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Honestly, when I phone patch, I use my cell phone and earbuds so they can hear me and I can hear their direction, and record myself on my DAW. Then I send the client the audio in whatever format they need.

Anything beyond that (or SourceConnect or Zoom or Skype) is far beyond my meager technical abilities.
_________________
* * * * * * * * * *
Pretending to be other people since 1986.

www.karynobryant.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
George
Contributor


Joined: 09 Dec 2019
Posts: 47
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bruce wrote:
Many of us use Skype. Many audio software programs allow you to input and output Skype calls through the program. Iíve done a Skype session with four people listening in at once from the U.S. and Europe. Cool.

Zoom is also popular for video and audio sessions.

The days of the phone patch device are long gone. In fact Iíve got one Iím planning on taking to an electronics recycler. Anyone need a brick?

B

actually, i'd like to take you up on the brick offer. i've had two auditions recently that specifically required phone patch and figured i would solve that problem in the event i was awarded the role. they're still out there and i might have need of it. please let me know what you'd like for it. (:

outside of that, i like karyn's idea best: use cell phone and ear buds while recording and then send final audio after the fact. i'm not sure i have a strong enough signal where i record to make that possible though, so phone patch might need to be my jam.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kristin Lennox
Flight Attendant


Joined: 30 Apr 2011
Posts: 834

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you do use a cell phone, do a test run first -- I ruined an entire directed session once because of cell interference. Shocked

I wasn't even using it for the patch, it was just accidentally in the booth with me...
_________________
Always look on the bright side of life.

Dee doo. Dee doot doot doo dee doo.

my website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Jack Daniel
Club 300


Joined: 23 Jun 2016
Posts: 363
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use ipDTL. I do enough phone patch sessions where it makes sense for me to have a dedicated number and a reliable, reproducible way to handle such sessions with very little thought and no maneuvering of a cell phone (which itself introduces the problem of recording unwanted sounds when the radio hits).

ipDTL also serves as my ISDN line. But most of the production houses I work with would rather have me record and send them the file after a phone patch.

This said, if I did a phone patch every once in a while, I wouldn't bother with this setup.
_________________
Jack Daniel
Voice Talent / Man About Town
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Glenn Moore
Been Here Awhile


Joined: 24 Jan 2005
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do you keep the phone noise from a phone patch session off the recording? Do you have to use a mixer and run it through an Aux channel?? I use to use my JK Autohybrid but stopped because the noise of the line and the client background noise would go on the recording. Since then I have just held the phone up to my mouth while I record....both landline and cell phone. It works but I can still get noise from the cell phone. Any ideas? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
George
Contributor


Joined: 09 Dec 2019
Posts: 47
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the whole thread made me wonder:

i know that if i have my cell phone too close to the mic, the static noise picks up when the phone tries to do anything. when the phone is far away from the mic, nothing picks up.

i'm curious what running bluetooth earbuds would do to solve that problem if the phone is well enough away from recording equipment in that scenario... i might need to try that later!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jack Daniel
Club 300


Joined: 23 Jun 2016
Posts: 363
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glenn Moore wrote:
How do you keep the phone noise from a phone patch session off the recording?


With ipDTL, I just don't record the incoming signal from the remote studio. I record only my mic input into my DAW. The only way the other studio could be heard is if I let my cans bleed into the mic. Which I don't :)
_________________
Jack Daniel
Voice Talent / Man About Town
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jack Daniel
Club 300


Joined: 23 Jun 2016
Posts: 363
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

George wrote:

i know that if i have my cell phone too close to the mic, the static noise picks up when the phone tries to do anything.


Exactly. The cell phone's radio is noisy and it's best to keep your cell out of the booth. I also don't like dealing with the awkwardness of holding a cell phone and making sure it's muted etc.
_________________
Jack Daniel
Voice Talent / Man About Town
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Karyn OBryant
Backstage Pass


Joined: 23 Jul 2013
Posts: 434
Location: Portlandia-adjacent

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2020 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use wired earbuds to minimize interference that bluetooth earbuds might cause. The ones made to be used with phones are pretty cheap. These here are $10 right now.
https://www.amazon.com/PHILIPS-Wired-Earbuds-Microphone-Comfort-Fit/dp/B00HMZJLCE/

When using earbuds, I don't hear any bleed-through on my mic. But definitely do a test run with a willing friend to ensure your setup works seamlessly.

FYI, I use these:
https://www.amazon.com/Philips-Earbuds-Headphones-Powerful-Lightweight/dp/B07TDS4SG1/
_________________
* * * * * * * * * *
Pretending to be other people since 1986.

www.karynobryant.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Matto
Club 300


Joined: 27 Nov 2007
Posts: 361
Location: Vancouver Island, British Columbia

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2020 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Like Jack, I use a dedicated phone number (and dedicated ISDN) on ipDTL. I previously used Skype for the phone patch, but I grew tired of Skype and its shenanigans.

My interface is the Apollo x6. I find the management of virtual channels and sends on the UAD stuff to be quite lovely.
_________________
www.mattcowlrick.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Jack Daniel
Club 300


Joined: 23 Jun 2016
Posts: 363
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2020 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Matto wrote:
Like Jack, I use a dedicated phone number (and dedicated ISDN) on ipDTL.


And like Matto, I use an Apollo interface. Curious about the new UA DAW coming out this Spring--LUNA it's called. Apollo-centric recording: I'll have to take a looksee.

But to Matt's point, Apollo does make it easy to route.
_________________
Jack Daniel
Voice Talent / Man About Town
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MBVOXX
Contributore Level V


Joined: 03 Jun 2008
Posts: 188
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Telos Hx1 and a dedicated hard line. The Telos provides two way communication, receives the outgoing signal from a dedicated out on the Apollo and returns incoming signal to a dedicated input/channel on the DAW.

Open a session in Pro Tools, set the Apollo console mixer to open the mic and phone patch channels, phone rings, hit the 'answer' button on the Telos,
Use the Apollo console to adjust the incoming client signal in the headphones.
done

Start working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VO-BB - A VO Family Forum Index -> Gear ! All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group