VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD! Forum Index VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD!
Where A.I. is a four-letter word.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New to the business. Am I crazy?
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
paulstefano
Backstage Pass

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 12:00 pm    Post subject: New to the business. Am I crazy? Reply with quote

Hello Everybody,

I am new to the business and looking for some advice. I am currently "trying on" the business while I work my day job. Like most of you, I'm sure you at one point (or maybe still are) dreamed of doing this full time, and so do I.

I've been recording for 3 weeks. I created a home studio and tried to hit the ground running. I signed up for Voices.com, Voices 123, Upwork, ACX and even created my own website.

Here are my results so far.

18 Demo Listens, 4 Audition Listens out of 20 submitted on Voices.com.
12 audiobook auditions completed on ACX. 1 Author on ACX listened to my demo and invited me to audition. Another actually personally responded to me that he had picked another narrator.
3 replies on Upwork to my proposals for jobs. Still negotiating final terms.

75 visits to my website (which is only 4 days old).

So my question is. How am I doing? I feel like I've gained some traction and could have something break any minute. Would you agree? Or is this typical of the long hard road I was expecting?

Thanks for looking.

Paul
Jason Huggins
The Gates of Troy

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At this point, the numbers are largely irrelevant. There isn't enough data to draw a conclusion. Just audition as much as you can (and totally forget about the audition after you send it), get some coaching, and learn learn learn!