VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD! Forum Index VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD!
Where A.I. is a four-letter word.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Television station retainer, fee question.

View previous topic :: View next topic  
kitstern
Been Here Awhile

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 11:33 pm    Post subject: Television station retainer, fee question. Reply with quote

A television station in Portland,OR has just put me on retainer to do spots for them. The deal is I do the scripts they send me, they pay me $400/month. Not bad, and steady money coming in every month is always nice. My question, is this retainer fee in the ballpark? I guess it depends on the amount of work and how much that averages out to each month per spot, but I'm new to this and I don't know if this is the going rate. Can someone with more experience clue me in? Thanks, and happy weekend!

http://www.kitziestern.com/
Frank F
Fat, Old, and Sassy

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kit,

What is your usual rate for a spot? Take that amount and divide it by the $400.00 and see what you come up with.

In my situation the answer is less than one, but this may vary.

Once you have that figure, how many promos will you be doing a month for them? What are the time constraints involved, how fast a turn-around, will it be a scheduled session each week or is it more ad hoc?