VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD! Forum Index VO-BB - 19 YEARS OLD!
Where A.I. is a four-letter word.

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Union work for non-union actor/agent?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
TC
Club 300

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 12:10 pm    Post subject: Union work for non-union actor/agent? Reply with quote

Here's an extremely hypothetical scenario that I hope to experience someday soon. If I do, I want to know what action to take.

I'm just beginning my VO career. I've got a finished demo that I'm about to start sending to agents. Meanwhile, the studio that produced my demo likes my work and has been calling me in for auditions. Some of the jobs are non-union, some are union.

I've been told that one excellent way to start a relationship with an agent is to get a job and then call that agent and say, "Look, I've been offered a job. I don't have an agent. Can you represent me?"

So let's say this happens. I get a job, but I still have no agent, so I call an agent for representation. And let's say this happens to be union work. Can I ask a non-union agent to represent me?

Of course, I'd love to get in with a union agency, and this kind of situation would seem to be just the ticket. But realistically, I know that I'm not going to be landing a ton of union work anytime soon, being so new to the business and having so much to learn. So I'm thinking that it would be better to use that job to get in with a non-union agent, who will more likely be able to find me work in the near future, thus allowing me to get the kind of experience I'll need to someday approach the union agencies with some confidence and a body of work I can point to.

Does it/can it work that way, or am I required to work through a union agent if I'm fortunate enough to land a union job?

Thanks.

Tony
lisaloo